The Board of Directors and the Medical Advisory Board of the American Syringomyelia and
Chiari Alliance Project (ASAP) announces the

XXIX Conference on Chiari I Malformation,
Syringomyelia, and Related Disorders


For 29 years, the conference has represented an invaluable source of information for national and international patients affected by Chiari, syringomyelia, and related disorders. Dr. Bernard Williams, Dr. Ulrich Batzdorf, Dr. Thomas H. Milhorat, Dr. Arnold Menezes, Dr. Edward Benzel, Dr. Barth Green and several other giants in this field have honored the conference with their presence since its inception.

The conference is geared towards educating patients, their families, neurosurgeons, residents, and health care practitioners. With almost 70 speakers from four different continents, this event will represent the highest concentration of experts on these topics ever assembled.

The following speakers have so far agreed to participate:

Richard Anderson (Columbia) - Allison Ashley-Koch (Duke) - Marat Avshalumov (IOM at NSPC) - Ulrich Batzdorf (UCLA) - Ghassan Bejjani (UPMC) - Paolo Bolognese (Chiari NSC) - Andrew Brodbelt (Liverpool, UK) - Marco Castori (Rome, Italy) - Palma Ciaramitaro (Turin, Italy) - Brian Dlouhy (Univ. Iowa) - Robert Duarte (NYS Pain Society) - Neil Feldstein (Columbia) - Clair Francomano (Harvey Inst.) - David Frim (Univ. Chicago) - Lorenzo Genitori (Florence, Italy) - Timothy George (Dells’ Children) - Atul Goel (Mumbai, India) - David Goldstein (NIH) - Rodney Grahame (London, UK) - Gerald Grant (Stanford) - Dan Heffez (Chiari Institute, WI) - Ian Heger (MCG) - John Heiss (NIH) - Fraser Henderson (Metro NSG Group) - Bermans Iskandar (Univ. Wisconsin) - Robert Keating (Washington Children) - Jorg Klekamp (Quakenbruck, Germany) - Petra Klinge (Brown) - Ilzumi Koyanagi (Hokkaido, Japan) - Roger Kula (Chiari NSC) - Lance LaCerte (Aurora, CO) - Jorge Lazareff (UCLA) - David Limbrick (Wash U) - Yung Liu (Beijing, China) - Kenneth Liu (UVA) - Yongli Lou (Zhengzhou, China) - Tina Loven (Mercy Clinic, MO) - Cormac Maher (Univ. Michigan) - Anne Maitland (Mt. Sinai) - Dominic Marino (Canine Chiari Institute) - Bryn Martin (Univ. Akron) - Arnold Menezes (Univ. Iowa) - John Mitakides (Beavercreek, OH) - Alon Mogilner (NYU) - Kevin Muldowney (Rhode Island) - Misao Nishikawa (Osaka, Japan) - Ed Oldfield (UVA) - Fabrice Parker (Paris, France) - Harold Rekate (Chiari Institute, NY) - Brandon Rocque (UAB) - Peter Rowe (Johns Hopkins) - Juan Sahuquillo (Barcelona, Spain) - Francesco Sala (Verona, Italy) - Wouter Schievink (Cedars Sinai) - Victor Shakhnovic (Burdenko Inst., Moscow) - Abe Shulman (SUNY Brooklyn) - Konstantin Slavin (Univ. Illinois) - Mark Souweidane (Cornell) - Marcus Stoodley (Sidney, Australia) - Charles Tator (Toronto, Canada) - Laura Valentini (Milan, Italy) - Monica Wehby (Portland, OR) - Nicholas Wetjen (Mayo Clinic) - Jeffrey Wisoff (NYU) - Shokei Yamada (Loma Linda, CA)

WHEN: Reception Buffet Dinner: Wednesday July 19th,
Scientific Sessions: Thursday July 20th to Sunday July 23rd.

WHERE: Long Island Marriott.
101 James Doolittle Blvd, Uniondale, NY 11553,
( 516) 794-3800

FEES: Admission fee: $ 175.

Webcast available for the same admission fee.

Residents will not be charged for admission (Live or Webcast).

CME credits will be available.

1. Go to the ASAP webpage
2. Select “Register for ASAP’s Chiari & Syringomyelia Conference now”
3. On the same webpage select “Click Here to make hotel reservations online or call hotel 516-794-3800” and provide them with corporate code “CISCISA” to secure special rate of $135/night

Patrice Schaublin - CEO of ASAP
Robert Keating, MD - President of the Medical Advisory Board
Paolo Bolognese, MD and Roger W. Kula, MD – Conference Organizers